Posted by: erh77 | July 14, 2012

Twenty-fourth Week (June 10th-16th)

June 10th

Church today.
Title of the message was “How Do I Please God?” and the text was Colossians 1:9-14. We will have to go against the tide if we want to live as Christians in our society. Here are 4 prerequisites to live a life that pleases God 1)Commit to doing good (Colossians 1:9-10, Ephesians 2:8-10), what has God given you the ability to do?, what has God given you the desire to do?, and what has God given you the opportunity to do?; 2)Mature in knowledge about God (Colossians 1:9-10); 3)Develop patient endurance (Colossians 1:10-11, 1 Corinthians 9:27, 2 Timothy 4:7-8); and 4)Cultivate a thankful heart (Colossians 1:12-14, Psalm 100:4-5, Mark 12:30).

100_1425 copy
My hair from the back. It’s a little messy, I took this picture after I had changed my clothes after church.

June 11th

My nephews were being hyper early, so I had them go outside and play off their energy. I ended up going outside with them and we played Simon Says and Duck, Duck, Goose. I even had them do a race around the backyard. I gave them an early lunch and had them watch a movie so that my youngest nephew could take a nap.

100_1444 copy
My youngest four nephews playing “Duck, Duck, Goose”. At the time I was “it”.

I finished reading The Judgment by Beverly Lewis and started reading The Mercy (The third and last book in The Rose Trilogy), also by Beverly Lewis.

June 12th

Got a call from my next to the oldest nephew wanting to meet my youngest nephew and me at a park. My youngest nephew picked a park near my house and we walked there and met my three nephews and brother-in-law there. He was going to take his boys to a “Farm” in town where the kids can see farm animals. It’s not a real farm, but has lots of farm animals to see and some to pet. It doesn’t open until 1 p.m.. The boys played at the park for awhile, then we decided to go get some lunch at McDonald’s before we went to the “Farm”. I walked back to my house with my youngest and middle nephews and The others drove. My oldest nephew was done with summer school and met us at my house, He wanted to go with us. We went to lunch at a McDonald’s near the “Farm” then went to the farm. To wear the boys out, I had them run up and down (& roll down) a big hill near the “Farm”. My brother-in-law took my youngest and oldest nephew and me back to my house.

100_1543 copy
All five of my nephews at the ‘Farm’.

My youngest nephew ended up spending the night.

June 13th

My youngest nephew wanted to have a picnic at the park, but this time he wanted to have it on the hill on the other side of the park. I packed everything we would need and we walked over to the park near my house (well I walked and he was in the stroller). I got him to pose for some pictures along the way and then for some more pictures after we ate lunch. We went and put our feet in the fountain to cool off a bit and then went to the playground.

100_1596 copy
The view of the hill near where we ate lunch. [This was stitched together on the camera using the panorama setting.]

100_1627 copy
A close up of a flower blooming in the backyard. We did not plant it, so I don’t know what type of flower it is. My dad thinks it’s a Morning Glory.

June 14th

Took my youngest nephew to Pre-School story time at the library. The Librarian read some books and sang some songs about pirates. My youngest nephew wanted to go to a park when we were done at the library. My mom had to do some errands in the town next to ours, so we weren’t going in the direction of the park my nephew wanted to go to. I took him to a park that has a water feature that he could play in, so he enjoyed that and got wet. We ended up going to get something to eat, then grocery shopping, and finally went back to my house.

100_1723 copy
Actually had to wait for a train. It has been awhile since I’ve had to. This train was going backward, not sure why.

100_1758 copy
Happy Flag Day! Almost forgot to take this flag down. Looks like it needs some mending.

Finished reading The Mercy by Beverly Lewis. Put a hold on a couple more Beverly Lewis books through the library’s website.

June 15th

Happy 14th Anniversary to my other sister and her husband!

Spent most of the morning in the pool with my youngest nephew since it was hot out. After his nap, we went outside and played with bubbles.

100_1838 copy
My bubbles I blew through the wand.

My youngest nephew spent the night because his mom (my oldest sister) had to work  early the next day.

June 16th

I spent about an hour outside in the pool with my youngest nephew. It was hard to get him motivated, he just wanted to play on the computer.

100_1884 copy
Saw a bird using the new bird feeder and was able to get close enough to it to take this picture.

 

 

[I had this mostly typed up and with all the pictures, all I had to do was add notes about Sunday’s message. I kept forgetting to get my notes and add to this. I haven’t been putting this on my priority list of things to do.]


Leave a comment

Categories