Posted by: erh77 | October 23, 2012

Thirty-eighth Week (September 16th–22nd)

September 16th

Church today.

Title of today’s message was “What If I Control My Thoughts?”. Observation #1: Poor (unbiblical) Thinking Leads to Problems (1-Robs us of our faith, 2-Leads to inactivity, and 3- Causes isolation in relationships); Observation #2: Good (biblical) Thinking Leads to Blessings (1-We’ll be happier, 2- We’ll develop an accurate view of life, 3-We’ll become productive); Steps to Controlling My Thoughts- 1) Think on Purpose (2 Corinthians 10:5), 2) Think with a Filter (Philippians 4:8), and 3) Think Towards Change (Romans 12:2, Ephesians 4:23, 1 Peter 1:13).

DSCN1184 copy
Don’t scratch your bug bites no matter how much they itch unless you want it to look like this. There were about four bites here on my (left) leg and I scratched it so much that it created this. I will probably have scars there.

September 17th

Not sure of what all I did, but I did make some Zucchini Bread for my brother-in-law (he was the one that gave me the Zucchini). Today is his birthday, so I thought it would be nice to give him some. I picked up my sister from work and took her (and the boys) home.

DSCN1188 copy
The Zucchini bread I made. I kept one loaf for my parents and myself and gave the other to my brother-in-law.

September 18th

Not sure all I did, probably sat outside and read after the boys left. I may have done some laundry. I do laundry almost everyday.

DSCN1191 copy
The sun trying to peek out from the clouds.

DSCN1192 copy
This may look like the sun setting, but it’s not really. It’s a reflection of the sun off the new addition to the hospital nearby (the new addition has glass on the side that faces my house).

September 19th

I made some Oatmeal Raisin bars. This time I added some more flour until it was the consistency that I liked. They turned out really well. I did some laundry. I also read  outside while sitting in my mom’s swing.

DSCN1219 copy
While I was reading in my mom’s swing, I saw a bird sitting on the side of a can we left outside and it had rain water in it (from rain we got a few days ago). Then the bird leaned down and got a drink of water. I was finally able to get this picture after the bird leaned over a few more times.

I finished reading Yuletide Homecoming by Carolyne Aarsen today. I’m going to the library tomorrow to pick up a couple of books I put on hold (books by Karen Kingsbury).

September 20th

Well I tried to go to the library, but I didn’t see the vehicle parked in a non-parking area across from my driveway. I was backing up out of my driveway (driving my brother-in-law’s vehicle) and I didn’t see the vehicle and hit it. I just left a dent near the front of the driver’s door. My dad ended up calling the police to come out and investigate (we didn’t know whose vehicle it was). Turned out the person was visiting in the house across the street. We both got tickets (mine for improper backing and the other for illegal parking). I ended up going to the library much later in the day (after the boys got out of school and before we had supper). After super I sat outside and read.

DSCN1234 copy
It looks like the bird wants to swing.
I saw this bird at first on the fence then on the teeter-tooter (if that’s what you call this thing on the swingset). It isn’t the best picture, but I wanted to get a picture before the bird flew away.

I started reading Oceans Apart by Karen Kingsbury

September 21st

I really can’t remember what I did today, it probably wasn’t much. I did go to the store.

DSCN1244 copy
The whole sky was cloudy except for a big circle almost in the middle of the sky. I tried to get a picture of the “hole” in the clouds while in the parking lot of the store we went to, but couldn’t since I was driving. While I was putting gas in my brother-in-law’s vehicle I was able to get this picture. The awning of the gas station hid the other half of the ‘hole’, but it’s still a pretty picture.

September 22nd

I dyed some white shirts a denim blue color. A couple of them had some small stains on them and I figured that if I dyed them a dark color the stains wouldn’t show. While soaking the clothes in the dye, I made some banana bread. I also did some laundry.

DSCN1255 copy
The Banana Bread I made. I kept one loaf for Mom, Dad, and myself. I split the other loaf between my two sisters.

 

[I was going to post this yesterday, but had trouble with the internet.-Oct. 23rd ~2:00 p.m. I hope it’s all fixed, now thanks to my brother.]

Leave a Reply

Categories

