Posted by: erh77 | September 18, 2012

Thirty-fourth Week (August 19th–25th)

August 19th

Church today.
Title of message was “A Gold Medal Life” and the text was 1 Corinthians 9:24-27. Here are four principles for a Gold Medal Life [it’s not about a gold medal for the Olympics]; 1) It takes Desire –I must want to ‘win’ (1 Corinthians 9:24-25), 2.) It takes Direction –I must focus on the goal (1 Corinthians 9:26 & Proverbs 17:24), 3.) It takes Discipline –I must work (1 Corinthians 9:25-26), and 4) It takes Determination –I must never give up (I Corinthians 9:27).

DSCN0069 copy
My laptop keyboard. (It’s black, but this picture makes it look brownish.)

August 20th

My brother was with my brother-in-law and nephews and they wanted to go to a park with my youngest nephew and me. They picked us up and we went to one of the local parks. The boys played at the park and after awhile we all played hide-and-go-seek. After we were done playing we went and got my mom and all went to a yogurt place and got some yogurt. We even got some for my dad and brought it back for him.

I took my ereader with me to the yogurt place because they have wifi there. I went to connect to it and my ereader and got a white screen with lines on it then it turned off. when I got back to my house I plugged in the charger and found out I had no internal memory and my things I had stored there was gone. I am able to get on the internet through it but can’t download any books. There is some memory on the device itself that it used for operational (already installed) apps. [I have e-mailed the company and have not had a response yet as to what I can do. The only thing I can think of is to buy a micro sd card to store the books on.]

After we got back to my house my nephews and brother played twister for awhile. When my brother, brother-in-law, and nephews (except my youngest one) left my mom, youngest nephew, and I started painting my mom’s fence out front. My youngest nephew did an ok job at helping.

DSCN0143 copy
My nephews playing on the merry-go-round at the park. At one point my brother-in-law got on it and my brother spun him around.

DSCN0268 copy
My youngest nephew painting the fence.

My mom is on vacation for the rest of the week.

August 21st

Played on my laptop with my youngest nephew for awhile. My other nephews wanted to play with my youngest nephew at a park, but we had to wait until my brother got off work so he could also go.
We went to a park and the boys played for a little bit, but then they were arguing with some girls there and no one was really wanted to compromise {do children even understand that word?}. We (my brother, brother-in-law, and I) decided to take them to another park. We stopped at a gas station along the way and got something to drink. When we got to the other park, we let them play in the sand (this park has sand) for a few minutes and then they all (everyone but me-my foot was hurting) played tag.

DSCN0288 copy
The clouds at the first park we went to that day. I was standing under a tree when I took this picture.

August 22nd

Since this would be the last day for a long while that my youngest nephew would be here, my mom and I thought it would be a good idea to do some fun things with him today. He goes to meet his kindergarten teacher tomorrow (with his parents) then friday is his first day of kindergarten. We also thought it would be nice to take him to the library to say goodbye to the librarians there (since he wouldn’t be back for Preschool Story Time). We took him to the library and thankfully his favorite librarian was there and he got to talk to her for awhile. As we were leaving the library my oldest sister (my youngest nephew’s mom) called and needed us to run an errand for her. We had to go to her work and pick up something that she had. As we were headed that way, my next to the oldest sister wanted us to get her some lunch (she had the day off). We ran the errand for my oldest sister, then went and got my other sister and got some lunch. We took her home then went back to the house. My youngest nephew and I played in the sprinkler after we were done eating lunch. [I didn’t get to do all that I wanted to do with my youngest nephew, but we had fun.]

DSCN0381 copy
I’m going to miss seeing this face almost everyday. I have been watching him since he was about 6 months old and now he is going off to kindergarten.

August 23rd

I slept in today and shortly after I woke up my oldest sister called me. They had already met my youngest nephew’s teacher and were planning on taking him to the Zoo and was wondering if I would like to go with them. They were going to a big zoo that’s a few hours away. I didn’t really have anything planed to do, so I went with them (my sister, her husband, and my youngest nephew). We drove for over an hour and stopped for some lunch, then went on to the zoo. By the time we got there we only had a little over 2 hours before it closed, so we didn’t have time to see the whole zoo (we did ride the train they had). We ended up getting back later than we wanted to. My brother-on-law dropped off my sister and nephew at their house before he took me home so that my nephew could get to bed and have a good night’s sleep before his first day of school.

DSCN0615 copy1
The sunset as we were coming home from the zoo.

August 24th

Took my older sister to Family Christian Stores so that she could preorder a Veggie Tale movie. Not sure what else I did, I did help my mom paint some more of the fence.

I started reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

DSCN0647 copy
First coat of paint on the fence is done.

August 25th

I borrowed my brother-in-law’s vehicle so that my net to the oldest nephew and I could go to a concert in a town about a half an hour from the town I live in. It was a free outdoor concert and we had to park a few blocks away and walk (while carrying chairs). It was a good concert. My brother, sister-in-law, and my sister-in-law’s mom joined us there. We walked around a bit before the concert started (there were lots of venders and some rides since it was a festival, not just a concert). After the concert my nephew wanted to play some games and took off. I walked around a bit with my brother, sister-in-law, and her mom then went and looked for my nephew. We both decided to get in line and get autographs from the band.

Today was my mom’s day back to work Sad smile, so she couldn’t go with us to the concert.

DSCN0659 copy
This is a sign that one of the vendors had. I didn’t know there were Strawberry, Orange, and Peach Shake Ups. I’ve only had a Lemon one. I didn’t have any extra money (plus I already had a drink), so I didn’t try any of these.

Leave a Reply

Categories

